first_imgThe men\’s hockey team celebrates their 2006 NCAA National Championship.[/media-credit]Change and success were the themes for Wisconsin’s hockey programs this decade. Both the men’s and women’s teams introduced new head coaches for the 2002-03 seasons, and the teams won a combined four national titles.The 2000s saw the Wisconsin hockey family gain a new member, as the women’s program began with the 1999-2000 season and quickly became the school’s most successful team.The legacy Badger Bob Johnson started in the ’60s with the men’s team was continued after his son Mark took over behind the women’s bench. The UW women won national titles in 2006, 2007 and 2009, and lost in the championship game in 2008. Wisconsin’s four consecutive appearances in the national title game are an NCAA record.Since 2000, the women have lost just 57 games, and Johnson is the winningest active Division I coach by winning percentage (.815). Johnson’s teams are 210-39-22-3, with three WCHA regular season and playoff titles each.Johnson saw arguably two of the greatest women’s hockey players ever go through Wisconsin in Sara Bauer and Jessie Vetter. Bauer scored the 10th-most career points in D-I history, netting 72 (24-48-72) during the 2006-07 season. Vetter owns almost every NCAA goaltending mark, ranking first in save percentage (.941), wins (91) and shutouts (39). She finished her collegiate career second to only fellow Badger Christine Dufour in goals against average (1.19 to 1.09).Wisconsin’s all-time points leader, Mike Eaves, took over the men’s team from Jeff Seuer and wasted little time in replicating his predecessor’s success. Eaves is 154-116-36 as the team’s head coach with one national title and four NCAA appearances.The men’s program saw its share of quality players in the 2000s as well. Goaltender Bernd Bruckler was named a First-Team All-American in 2004 — UW’s first goaltender to make the first team since 1980. In Dany Heatley and Kyle Turris, the Badgers had their highest-drafted players ever, Heatley going second overall and Turris third. Defenseman Jamie McBain was the 2009 WCHA Player of the Year, and forward Joe Pavelski followed up a successful UW career by playing for the San Jose Sharks.A banner year for both programs, Wisconsin became the first school to win national titles in both men’s and women’s hockey in 2006. The women went 36-4-1, defeating rival Minnesota 3-0 in the title game. The men posted their seventh 30-win season, beating Boston College at the Bradley Center 2-1 en route to a 30-10-3 record.With the dominance of the women’s team and continued success of the men, Wisconsin established itself as one of — if not — the premiere hockey school of the 2000s. Who can argue with four combined NCAA championships in five appearances?last_img